My Jane Austen Rankings

Those who know me well, know that I am a big Jane Austen fan. I have my dad to thank for that “obsession” – when I was around 11 he threw away the dumb teen novels I was reading and told me to find something better. Looking to impress him and not have my books thrown away again, I stumbled across Jane Austen!

Through conversations with friends and coworkers, I have discovered that most people who have read more than Pride and Prejudice usually have strong opinions on their favorite works by Austen.

Below are MY personal rankings of the Jane Austen books I’ve read:

  1. Emma
  2. Persuasion
  3. Pride and Prejudice
  4. Sense and Sensibility
  5. Mansfield Park
  6. Northanger Abbey

Now I know many people may be surprised that I didn’t put Pride and Prejudice at the top of the list – and don’t get me wrong, Pride and Prejudice is awesome – but honestly the book should probably be in its own list.

Now, I don’t know if the order in which I read the books affects my ranking or not, but the books certainly got more enjoyable to more I got used to Jane Austen’s writing – which is probably why Persuasion is so high on my list. I can’t put a finger on what I liked about that book so much except for the fact that it was one of the easier reads for me.

Emma would probably have to be my top pick because of the fascinating, often humorous storyline and lovable Mr. Knightley. This story came across as a bit more grounded and evolved than P&P’s. The story was also just plain more fun. And c’mon – the modern remake Clueless? Yeah. It’s awesome.

It’s been a while since I’ve read these books, so my opinion might be a little outdated. Let me know in the comments if you disagree with my ranking or if you have any thoughts on these classic works!

 

Leave a Reply

